MINUTES OF AN ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE MOLINE HOUSING AUTHORITY

October 23, 2023

The annual meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the Moline Housing Authority was held at 5:30 PM in the Spring Valley Community Building located at 1150 41st Street, Moline, IL 62165.

Board members present were Chairperson Leslie Stange-Crotty, Vice-Chairperson Diane Fox, Raegan Jones, and Pat O'Brien. Staff members present were Executive Director John Afoun and Recording Secretary Maria Nino. Board Counsel was in attendance.

There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

1. Call to Order: Chairperson Leslie Stange-Crotty called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Remarks by Chairperson Leslie Stange-Crotty: Chairperson Stange-Crotty said it has been a year, it has been a good year. She asked if anyone had any complaints. There were none and she said to continue with the meeting.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the Annual Meeting of October 17th **2022:** Minutes of the annual meeting of October 17th 2022 were reviewed. Motion was made, and seconded, to approve the minutes of the annual meeting of October 17th 2022. All voting members present voting "aye", none against; the Chairperson declared the motion carried unanimously.

Presentation of Annual Report by Executive Director: Mr. Afoun reviewed the annual report that had been distributed. He highlighted the "high performer" statuses, unqualified audit, occupancy rate, and net income. He said he was not going to read the report since everyone had it prior to the meeting. We also went over the website renovation. Mr. Afoun stated that financially, program wise, and publicly we are good.

3. Election of Officers: Chairperson Stange-Crotty opened the floor for nominations for Chairperson.

Commissioner Fox nominated Leslie Stange-Crotty for Chairperson. Commissioner Jones seconded the nomination. Chairperson Stange-Crotty called three times for nominations from the floor, but no further nominations were made. Chairperson Stange-Crotty declared that the nominations were closed.

Commissioner Leslie Stange-Crotty accepted the nomination and was declared Chairperson by acclamation.

Chairperson Leslie Stange-Crotty opened the floor for nominations for Vice-Chairperson.

Commissioner Jones nominated Diane Fox for Vice-Chairperson. Chairperson O'Brien seconded the nomination. Chairperson Stange-Crotty called three times for nominations from the floor, but no further nominations were made. Chairperson Stange-Crotty declared that the nominations were closed.

Commissioner Diane Fox accepted the nomination and was declared Vice-Chairperson by acclamation.

4. Any other business that may come before the Board including comments from the general public:

Mr. Afoun stated that last year was good and we are continuing to develop the second phase of this. We are working with the City to get that finalized. Once we get that finalized I will bring it to the Board. Mr. Afoun talked about the land being sold by Richard Simpson. We have been working with the planning department and the Board approved we continue to work with SE Clark for the 25% of the developer's fee. This has been conveyed to them and we have begun the process. The only issue we are waiting to resolve is the City planning and zoning requirements. We wanted to build 24 units, but the City is of the view that this may create a backlash in the community and the suggested maybe 16. Mr. Afoun is arguing the more units you have the more favorable your application is and economy of scale. The City is supposed to get back to him about this during this week. Because of the delay of our auditor to come and do the audit we have yet to produce the annual report. We are in good shape and we are headed in the right direction. One of the things we forgot to do this year is to have the Board Strategic Meeting. We normally have this in September, but for some reason did not. We will probably do this early next year. Vice-Chairperson Fox said she has lots of ideas on things she would like to have added.

5. Adjournment:

There being no further business, a motion was made, and seconded, to adjourn the meeting. All voting members present voting "aye", none against; the Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 5:54 P.M.

Leslie Stange-Crotty, Chairperson